Adam Peaty, James Guy, Lizzie Simmonds and Siobhan Marie O’Connor among the first 15 names announced in Team England’s swimming team for the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

The team, which consists of England’s top swimmers, already holds 17 Commonwealth medals between them, while six of the chosen athletes will be competing at their first Games.

There are another 17 swimming places remaining for Team England which will be contested at the Swim England National Winter Championships taking place in Sheffield from the 13th-17th December.

Commonwealth gold medallist, Adam Peaty, said:

“With the English lion on my arm, I’m pretty patriotic about that and it It’s where my senior career started [Glasgow 2014] and where I got my the first major win under my belt, and obviously taking down the pervious Olympic champion that’s what put me on the stepping stone these last four years.”

Commonwealth silver medallist, Lizzie Simmonds, said:

"It feels awesome to be selected to represent Team England at the 2018 Commonwealth Games. It will be my third Games, and as I’ve recently changes coaching programmes, this will be a great marker to see how these changes will position me against some of the world’s best.

“I’m looking forward to being back on the Gold Coast. I have lots of memories from training over there and I love that part of the world.”

Team England will send a team of around 600 athletes and staff in what will be England’s largest ever team to represent the nation in an overseas sporting event. The team will compete in 18 sports, including 38 para medal events.

Commonwealth bronze medallist, James Guy, said:

“It is an honour to be selected to compete for Team England, something special could happen at the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

“The Games is another chance to get used to being in a village environment, to get some sun on the Gold Coast, and a great opportunity to race on the other side of the world.”

The full list of names includes:


Freya Anderson

Eleanor Faulkner

Holly Hibbott

Lizzie Simmonds

Sarah Vasey

Molly Renshaw

Emily Large

Siobhan Marie-O’Connor

Jocelyn Ulyett


Ben Proud

James Guy

Luke Greenbank

Adam Peaty

Andrew Willis

Max Litchfield