For the first time in seventeen years the Commonwealth Games Federation has a new President, with the retirement of The Hon Michael Fennell and the election of HRH Tunku Imran from Malaysia to the top position. 
Imran served as the Federation’s Vice President for 11 years and chairs its Sports Committee.

Fennell, who has overseen successful Games in Kuala Lumpur (1998), Manchester (2002), Melbourne (2006) and Delhi (2010), becomes a Life Vice President of the CGF.

Imran has an impressive record both on and off the sports field.

The 63-year-old is a former Malaysian squash champion and national team member.

He is the President of the Olympic Council of Malaysia and has been an IOC member since 2006.

Imran has held a number of positions in world sport, including as President of the World Squash Federation from 1989 to 1996 and he was an Executive Board Member of the International Cricket Council from 1997 to 1999 and again from 2001 to 2008.
Professionally, Imran is a qualified barrister, company chairman and director.

"I am absolutely delighted, and proud, to be the seventh President of the Commonwealth Games Federation,” Imran said.

“Mike Fennell is going to be a very hard act to follow, but we have a strong board, and a clear vision an strategy for the future of the Games.

“I'm now looking forward to getting stuck in and building on Mike's legacy and our strengths to make these great Games even better."

The quadrennial elections saw Canada’s Bruce Robertson, the Chair of the 2014 Glasgow Coordination Committee re-elected, with South African Commonwealth Games Association President Gideon Sam, filling the vacancy left by Imran’s elevation.

Honorary Secretary Louise Martin (Scotland), Honorary Treasurer
Austin L. Sealy (Barbados), were re-elected unopposed.

Providing further stability to the organization, four of the six Regional Vice President’s were re-elected as well, with The Gambia’s Abdoulie M. Touray (Africa), Sri Lankan Hemasiri Fernando (Asia), St Lucia’s Fortuna Belrose (Caribbean) and Samoa’s Tapasu Leung Wai (Oceania) all receiving the endorsement of their regions.

Wales’ Christopher Jenkins will take over as Vice-President for Europe and Guyana’s Kalam Azad Juman-Yassin takes on the responsibility for the Americas.

The newly elected Executive at its first meeting on Saturday November 12 will fill the positions of Honorary Legal Adviser, Honorary Medical Adviser and Athlete Representative.