Team England has announced that Ethan Hayter will no longer be competing as part of the cycling team at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

The current Omnium World Champion was due to compete across track and road events, but will no longer be competing due to racing the Tour of Poland as part of his commitments to Team INEOS Grenadiers.

Will Perrett will replace Hayter as part of the Team England track cycling team pursuit line up that will compete on Friday 29 July, including Charlie Tanfield, Dan Bigham, Ethan Vernon and Ollie Wood. Perrett will also compete in the individual pursuit.

Matt Walls, who won the silver medal in the Madison at Tokyo 2020 with Hayter, will now compete in the 15km scratch and 40km points race.

The cyclists announced to represent Team England are:

Track Cycling:

·       Blaine Ridge-Davis – Manchester (from London)

·       Charlie Tanfield – Stockport, Manchester (from North Yorkshire)

·       Dame Laura Kenny – Cheshire (from Harlow)

·       Ethan Vernon – Macclesfield, Cheshire (from Bedford)

·       Grace Lister – Shrewsbury, Shropshire

·       Hayden Norris – Stafford

·       Joe Truman – Manchester (from Hampshire)

·       Josie Knight – Macclesfield, Cheshire (from Buckinghamshire)

·       Maddie Leech – Manchester (from Huddersfield)

·       Milly Tanner – Stockport, Manchester (from Exeter)

·       Oliver Wood – Stockport, Manchester (from Wakefield)

·       Ryan Owens – Manchester (from Milton Keynes)

·       Sophie Capewell – Cheadle, Manchester (from Burton On Trent)

·       Sophie Lewis – Cheadle, Manchester (from Peterborough)

·       Hamish Turnbull – Manchester (from Northumberland)

·       Dan Bigham – Stone, Staffordshire (from Newcastle)

·       Matt Walls – Oldham, Lancashire (from Oldham)

·       Will Perrett – Loughborough (from Nottingham) 

Para- track Cycling:

·       Sophie Unwin – Honiton, Devon (from Salisbury)

·       Georgia Holt, Pilot for Sophie – Oldham, Manchester (from Nottingham)

·       Steve Bate MBE – Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire

·       Chris Latham, Pilot for Steve – Comberbach, Cheshire (from Bolton)

Road Cycling:

·       Abi Smith – York, North Yorkshire

·       Alice Barnes – Stockport, Cheshire (from Oxford)

·       Anna Henderson, Buckinghamshire

·       Ben Turner – Doncaster, Yorkshire

·       Connor Swift – Doncaster, Yorkshire

·       Fred Wright – Cheadle, Cheshire (from London)

·       Jake Stewart – Birch Vale, Derbyshire (from Coventry)

·       Josie Nelson – Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire (from Lichfield)

·       Joss Lowden – Andorra (from Lewes, East Sussex)

·       Ethan Vernon – Macclesfield, Cheshire (from Bedford)

Mountain Bike:

·       Evie Richards – Malvern, Worcestershire

·       Harry Birchill – Newton Abbot, Devon (from Torquay)

·       Joseph Blackmore – Bexleyheath, Kent (from Sidcup)

Find out more about the athletes here