England's netball team will take to the court as one of the 12 qualifiying nations for next year's Commonwealth Games it was confirmed today. 

They qualify alongside the International Netball Federation's (INF) top ranked teams which include Australia, New Zealand and Jamaica as well as the likes of crowd pleasers, the Malaqi Netball Queens, who have continued their surge on the world stage since making their debut at the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games.

The Uganda National Netball team will also travel to the Gold Coast after being announced as one of the nations to qualify for the GC2018 Netball competition.

This is the first time Uganda has qualified for the netball competition at a Commonwealth Games, with the tenacious team leaping from 13th to ninth in the recent International Netball Federation (INF) World Ranking List after defeating Malawi to win this year’s Africa Netball Cup.

The GC2018 Netball Competition commences with preliminary matches at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre from 5-12 April before culminating in the finals matches at the Coomera Indoor Sports Centre on 14-15 April.

The top-12 ranked reams according to the INF World Ranking list as of 1 July 2017 have qualified for the GC2018 Netball Competition as follows:

  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand
  3. England
  4. Jamaica
  5. South Africa
  6. Malawi
  7. Fiji
  8. Wales
  9. Uganda
  10. Northern Ireland
  11. Barbados
  12. Scotland