Lawrence Dallaglio, the former England rugby captain, and David Ross, co-founder of The Carphone Warehouse plc, are amongst 13 names who have been enlisted and announced today by Sir Andrew Foster to sit on a newly-constituted Commonwealth Games England (CGE) Board and to guide England’s participation in Delhi 2010 and beyond.

CGE is the organisation responsible for preparing, organising and managing England’s participation at each Games and for raising the profile of the Games and the Commonwealth “Movement” in this country. It is also seeking to attract sponsors to support its aims. England has a significant record of success at the Games.

Sir Andrew has enlisted representatives from sport, industry and public service in his drive to modernise and energise CGE. The new Board members, all of whom are voluntary, have been appointed after an unprecedented response to England’s advertisements.

Beyond the primary business of creating the right platform for sporting success in Delhi, the board will also focus on profile-raising, re-branding, sponsorship matters and enhanced governance and financial procedures.

“This process has generated a board of big-hitters who are passionate about the success of England. I am convinced they will be creative and dynamic in their support of our athletes. They will provide incomparable experience, knowledge and creativity for our cause”, said Sir Andrew.

Other business names recruited, through a public recruitment process managed and organised by Sports Recruitment International for CGE, to join the board today include Angus Kinnear, Head of Marketing at Arsenal FC, David Robinson of Speedo International, Joseph Ryan of PricewaterhouseCoopers and Martin Thomas of Snapper Communications.

The Board now also features Dame Kelly Holmes, President of the CGE as well as Peter King, who took British Cycling to new levels of world-class achievement during his tenure as Chief Executive.

Other newly-involved, sports-related names announced today include Claire Furlong (athletics), and Nigel Holl (Netball) from the world of sport. Hamish McInnes (snooker), Dennis Yeoman (swimming) and Ann Hogbin, Chief Executive of CGE, remain as directors from the previous quadrennium, offering continuity of knowledge.

“I am proud to be backing England in their endeavours and look forward to making a difference” said Lawrence Dallaglio.

“I am passionate about the success of sport in our country, and am delighted to be helping England move forward with its mission to attract commercial partners and create the right environment for England’s athletes to shine in Delhi. As a new Board, I am certain we can make this happen”, said David Ross.

CGE also recently announced Craig Hunter as its Chef de Mission for Delhi after appointing Dame Kelly Holmes in May to succeed Sir Christopher Chataway as its President. The whole mix creates a vibrant CGE with considerable resources on which to draw. A new brand is being developed and should be launched in early October alongside a re-designed website and You Tube presence.

The 2010 Commonwealth Games take place in Delhi, India, from 3 to 14
October 2010. They will feature 17 sports - archery, aquatics (swimming, synchronised swimming & diving), athletics, badminton, boxing, cycling, gymnastics, hockey, lawn bowls, netball, rugby 7s, shooting, squash, table tennis, tennis, weightlifting and wrestling. With the 2012 Olympic Games in London and the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Commonwealth Games England is entering a breath-taking four years of sport.

For further information please contact Commonwealth Games England’s press office at Matchtight Ltd on 01225 443998.

Commonwealth Games England is the organisation responsible for selecting and organising England's team at the Commonwealth Games. At the last Games, held in Melbourne in 2006, England were second only to hosts Australia on the medal table winning 36 gold, 40 silver and 34 bronze medals.

Sport England is a major funder of Commonwealth Games England.

CGE Board

Dame Kelly Holmes - President
Sir Andrew Foster - Chairman
Ann Hobgin CBE - Chief Executive

Lawrence Dallaglio OBE
Claire Furlong
Nigel Holl
Peter King CBE
Angus Kinnear
Hamish McInnes
David Robinson
David Ross
Joseph Ryan
Martin Thomas
Dennis Yeoman